Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fitting a trigger to a 1911

4 posters

Go down

Fitting a trigger to a 1911 Empty Fitting a trigger to a 1911

Post by rlabbe 7/8/2011, 9:21 am

I'm a bit of a beginner, both with 1911s and gunsmithing in general.

The stock trigger shoe in my 1911 has a bit of vertical play. I haven't measured it, but somewhere in the 1/16" range. I've read that ideally there should be no play, so in my last Brownell's order I ordered a trigger that stated "requires gunsmith fitting", assuming that it was a bit oversized and would require filing to fit. No, it fits exactly the same as my stock trigger.

So, two questions - am I correct in assuming that a good wad gun should not have any play in the trigger? If so, which trigger brands are truly oversized and require fitting? If it matters, I prefer a long trigger.

The trigger I bought has a shoe that measure .924" tall, and the arms are .232" tall.

rlabbe

Back to top Go down

Fitting a trigger to a 1911 Empty Re: Fitting a trigger to a 1911

Post by Myke 8/6/2011, 12:57 pm

If nobody jumps in here to help - try this site..
http://forums.1911forum.com/
I've found them to be a pretty open group to helping.. and some really good smiths too...

Mike

Myke

Back to top Go down

Post by rlabbe 8/6/2011, 9:35 pm

Thanks, Myke.

rlabbe

Back to top Go down

Post by FaisalYamin 8/12/2011, 11:13 am

A little play is fine, as long as it doesn't interfere with you squeezing straight back.

If you can keep it consistent its not an issue.

But trigger is a critical part and you should have a gunsmith fit it or some one who has experience.

Also use Moly around the trigger it will help.
FaisalYamin
FaisalYamin

Back to top Go down

Post by Bryan Coyle 8/12/2011, 2:06 pm

Use a pencil to repeatedly push the trigger back while you're watching from the side.