Bullseye-L Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Weight Training

+2
Larry Lang
ScottSimmonds
6 posters

Go down

Weight Training Empty Weight Training

Post by ScottSimmonds 8/2/2011, 7:28 am

I'm very very new to the sport. I want to get better fast. To me weight training seems to be a key - in addition to shooting a lot.

-build endurance
-build muscle control
-minimize arc of movement

The obvious one is to hold your gun at a target until your arm falls off. I'm not sure, alone, if that is enough.

I added a wrist weight, and held until my arm fell off. Still not sure...

Larry Carter told me of Bill Blankenship who practiced for windy days by holding his gun while another gun hung from his wrist swinging on a string. I took a 5 pound weight, made a wrist strap, and hung it from my wrist - swinging it as I held the gun until my arm fell off.

Better - I could feel more muscles being used to stabilize the motion and weight.

Dawned on me that if I built all the muscles of my arm, upper back, and shoulder (for endurance, not mass) that the muscles used in the pistol hold would be better supported, less prone to overuse injury, and all around happier. I'm finding that my scores are dropping and it takes much longer now for my arm to fall off during hold training.

I am doing the following:

--Dumbbell Curls - Classic bicep exercise.

--Dumbbell Press - Press dumbbell from shoulder, up, over head.

--Arnold Curl - Hold dumbbells in each hand. Arms bent at elbow at right angle to the side - dumbbell up, upper arm perpendicular to body, weights above they head. Press up so dumbbells touch over your head, return to start position. Keep arms at right angle - bring arms and elbows to front by face so that hands and elbows touch.

--Push Ups

--Sit Ups

--Angel Wings - Hold dumbbell in each hand arms down, palm facing body. Bring arms up slowly to side, arms straight until hands touch overhead.